Making MCHS History

For the first time in the history of Mt. Carmel High School (MCHS), the boys lacrosse team won the CIF Division II championships this year. The team had a record of 14-6 but were undefeated in Division II for the season. When asked about the achievement of his team Head Coach Mike Dasch shared, “We have been building our program for the last couple of years and this year it was all about staying focused and achieving the team goal. We showed the community, our school, and the rest of San Diego that MCHS lacrosse has a serious program. This is an accomplishment that the players will remember for the rest of their lives.”

The team was led by team captains Michael Dasch, Robert Davies, and Troy Krukowski. Attackman Shad Baker led the team in points and midfielder Michael Dasch led the team in number of goals, followed up by attackmen Troy Kruowski, Evan Clement, Conner Rideout, and midfielders Parker Jenkins and Thomas Setnan. The team stayed strong defensively with defensive midfielders Johnny Hymes, Michael Haas, and Spencer Jackson. Close-defensive players included Quentin Oribello, Alex Zamarripa, Shawn Dasch, and Robert Davies. The team’s goalies were Patrick Gannon and Noah Bertrand. As far as next season’s outlook, Coach Mike commented, “Seven out of 11 of our starters will be returning as rising juniors, with a large amount of rising sophomores right behind them. Our coaching staff will also be growing as well. The future is bright for Mt. Carmel Lacrosse!”