Local Scholars

Sixty-three Poway Unified School District (PUSD) students have been selected as semifinalists for the 2018 National Merit Scholarship Program. The students entered the competition – along with approximately 1.6 million high school juniors from over 22,000 high schools across the country – by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test last year. Only 16,000 students from that entry pool have been recognized as semifinalists this year. Roughly 90 percent of semifinalists are expected to advance to the finalist level, where they will be in the running for 7,500 National Merit Scholarships for Spring 2018. Selection is based on students’ academic record, test scores, activities, leadership, and personal essay, as well as information about the school’s curricula, grading system, and written recommendation.


Semifinalists from Mt. Carmel High School include: Carson Alfonzo, Eileen Bost, Jonathan Cline, Juliana Fox, and Jonathan Tran. Semifinalists from Westview High School include: Allison Bao, Nathan Bradshaw, Steven Chen, Robin Chu, Alan Dinh, Liam Fowler, David Galash, Jamie Geng, Ricky Guo, Eric Kang, Jeeyu Kim, Andrew Lee, Nir Levin, Rehana Nasser, Kevin New, Nicole Nolan, Nandini Rajgopal, Seth Siegel, Charles Wang, Kerry Wang, Jack Yang, Ethan Yao, Andre Yin, Kevin Yu, Angela Zeng, and Eric Zhang. Other PUSD semifinalists hail from Del Norte, Poway, and Rancho Bernardo High Schools. Finalists will be announced in February 2018.